New to Curve and have some questions

Hey,

So, I’m new to Curve and I just had some quick questions I wasn’t able to find the answer to in the FAQ.

1. Is there anyway to see the conversion rate when using my card abroad? I bank with both Lloyds and N26 and I’d like to see whether Cruve’s rates at the time are the same/better than N26.

2. Can we use a Curve card to withdraw cash inside a bank (not via ATM) abroad or should we use our base card for that?

3. If we are buying something in a currency that’s not currently supported how do conversions work?

1 Like

No.

I’d assume so. Do the cashiers inside charge the card in a different way?

AFAIK you will be charged in GBP.

0 Likes

The currency conversion will be done by mastercard, at the mastercard rate

0 Likes

Hi, welcome to the Curve Community!

At present, there isn’t a way to view the conversation rate in the app or on our website. Curve uses a wholesale rate to convert your currency when you make a transaction abroad. This means you will be making a transaction at the rates that banks use in order to exchange money between them, which is also known as the interbank rate.

You can use your Curve card to withdraw cash from an ATM as you would be with any other debit card.

This isn’t something I had heard of before, when would this be done instead of withdrawing from an ATM directly?

You make purchases in every currency with Curve. However, Curve can only charge your underlying cards in our supported currencies. This means that if you make a transaction is an unsupported currency, Curve will convert this transaction (at 0%) to the supported currency of your selected card and charge you in that currency only.

0 Likes

Hello Ivo,

Thank you for your reply :slight_smile:

An example of why you may withdraw from inside a bank is if the ATMs have a low limit withdrawal allowed per day/per card.

0 Likes

I understand now :grinning: