My last day with Curve Metal

I’ve been using the shiny blue metal card for a bit over 6 months (I believe I was one of the first customers who got one), during this time I’ve used LoungeKey once and earned about 40£ in cashback. Yesterday I’ve downgraded to Curve Blue, because I’ve lost my faith in the project.

Back in May 2019 I’ve created a topic where I’ve asked Curve, basically, to be more open and honest. In the response, now Curve publishes monthly-updates, but hey, what exactly they’ve done in the last 6 months? Let’s dive in…

1. Lounge Key was released few days before first monthly update, but let’s count it in as well
  2. Curve Cash was finally released, hooray! But you have to choose wisely, because there is still no way to change the merchants list…
  3. Redesigned “profile” in the app
  4. Participation in Beta is now open
  5. Improved onboarding process
  6. Beta-version of Peer-to-Peer payments with Curve Cash

Seems like that’s it. I saw 2 useful things for me: LoungeKey, CashBack… and maybe insurance. The LoungeKey pricing was suddenly increased few days back. Now more interesting part, let’s take a look on the TOP10 of Ideas section of this community, the list which the real customers are interested in and would like it to be implemented:

1. Apple/Google/X-pay, technically it’s not in the Ideas list, but we’re still waiting for it for infinite amount of time
  2. Fingerprint Card, 136 votes
  3. 3DS or some alternative, 65 votes. Users can’t use the card for online payments anywhere they like, what could be more important for Pete’s sake?!
  4. Sticky Transactions (Recurring Payments) & Smart Transactions/Rules, 64 votes
  5. BLACK color metal card, 59 votes
  6. Make Curve FX free limit visible in-app, 41 votes
  7. Change card PIN using Curve app, 41 votes
  8. Switch cards using Today View widget or Force Touch - iOS, 39 votes
  9. Feature for a Joint Curve account, 38 votes
  10. Curve Split!, 37 votes